“Oh, you’re no fun any more.”

Gosh, it seems like it was just the other day that Anthony Horvath was telling us how much he was enjoying our discussion, and boasting about having me “on the ropes.” Now it appears that he’s changing his tune (again). In the new version, I’m not a participant on the losing end of a lively and enjoyable discussion, I’m supposed to be a stalker. And this post is so juicy, he’s put it in a special category so that it does not show up on his front page.

Before I respond to this post, let me first of all welcome Mr. Horvath to the wonderful world of the public blogosphere, where people read and sometimes comment on each other’s public posts. I might also mention, in passing, that if you choose to squander your public free speech on trying to spread sneaky slanders about those who disagree with your religion, you have voluntarily surrendered the right to play the “oh poor me” card if and when someone speaks up and exposes how spurious, self-defeating, and downright silly your snide insinuations are. If Mr. Horvath is upset by the response to his gratuitous slurs against atheists, he is certainly welcome to exercise a little more restraint and responsibility in the material he chooses to post.

But granted that he’s feeling a bit abused right now, let’s see if we can predict his response. We know that he’s a Christian, and not just an ordinary Christian: he’s a professional apologist with a degree in Pastoral Ministry and post-graduate studies in philosophy and apologetics. And we know what the New Testament tells Christians to do when confronted by adversaries and persecution:

But I say to you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you.

Love is patient, love is kind and is not jealous; love does not brag and is not arrogant does not act unbecomingly; it does not seek its own, is not provoked, does not take into account a wrong suffered, does not rejoice in unrighteousness, but rejoices with the truth;

Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.

[S]anctify Christ as Lord in your hearts, always being ready to make a defense to everyone who asks you to give an account for the hope that is in you, yet with gentleness and reverence; and keep a good conscience so that in the thing in which you are slandered, those who revile your good behavior in Christ will be put to shame. For it is better, if God should will it so, that you suffer for doing what is right rather than for doing what is wrong.

When they bring you before the synagogues and the rulers and the authorities, do not worry about how or what you are to speak in your defense, or what you are to say;  for the Holy Spirit will teach you in that very hour what you ought to say.

I think we’ve got a pretty good idea what to expect, right? After all, this is just the sort of superhuman, godly forbearance that won the Roman Empire over to Christianity in the first place, is it not? Let’s sit back and prepare to be overwhelmed by the kindness and irreproachable godliness of Mr. Horvath’s Christian response:

It is Herr Professor, or shall I say, Hyperbole Boy…

Or should we call him Jump to Conclusion Man?

Or just Content Parasitico?

Mmmmm, feel that good Christian love. Makes you warm all over, doesn’t it? Notice how the wisdom of the Holy Spirit just shines through in the way he lays bare exactly what it is that I got “wrong” in my post(s) and gently corrects my misunderstandings…

If you’re wondering what was in the “…” above, it’s (apparently) his main objection to one of my posts.

He read my most recent post and thought he ‘read it right’ that I was insinuating an atheistic plot at NBC. He takes a post that includes in the title… “a warm up” and figures he knows enough about what I really mean from such a brief intro that he can opine on it.

Yeah, imagine me being foolish enough to think you can understand what someone means by reading what they’ve written. You know you’re getting into the good stuff when you get that kind of argument from a Bible-based believer!

In his defense, I believe he has a different notion about a blog’s role, willing to use it as a platform towards ongoing discussions, but that is not how I use my blog. In many of his attacks on my posts he takes issue with what he thinks is my unwillingness to have further discussion. That just ain’t true. I have a discussion board for more in depth discussion. I view my blog as just a place to post some thoughts and reactions, musings, etc. For full blown defense- or attack- a blog just isn’t a good place.

So, Dear Doc: You can try to prod me after everything I post, but if you want to have a real conversation- with me, anyway- my debate forum is the place.

Thanks, I know all about those safe, private forums where all the moderator buttons are in the hands of the Christian apologist. There’s nothing you can type into a forum post box that you can’t type into a blog post box, so I’ll keep my material out in public, where everyone can see it. My material does not require a safe, controlled environment in order to survive–it’s consistent with real world truth, which spares me the trouble of having to work to keep my stories straight.

One Response to ““Oh, you’re no fun any more.””

  1. Christian Apologetics Ministries at Sntjohnny.com » Blog Archive » Laugh so hard milk came out my nose Says:

    […] ‘conversation’ with, does not think I’m very loving.  Here is a quote from his latest: Let’s sit back and prepare to be overwhelmed by the kindness and irreproachable godliness of Mr. […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

